The Christian B. Anfinsen Award

Christian B. Anfinsen
1916 – 1995

Established in 1996 and named for Nobel laureate Christain Boehmer Anfinsen, whose research on the structure and function of enzyme proteins contributed to the general acceptance of the “thermodynamic hypothesis”, The Christian B. Anfinsen Award recognizes significant technical achievements in the field of protein science.

grey filler square


The Christian B. Anfinsen Award, sponsored by The Protein Society, recognizes significant technical achievements in the field of protein science. The recipient of this award in 2014 is Dr.  Robert Tycko (National Institutes of Health) for his seminal contributions to the development of modern solid state nuclear magnetic resonance methods for structural investigations of proteins and influential studies on amyloid fibrils associated with neurodegeneration and disease. Dr. Tycko’s achievements in this area are highlighted by his recent presentation of the first detailed structure of β-amyloid fibrils from Alzheimer’s disease brain tissue and evidence for structural variations that underlie prion diseases.

grey filler square

History of The Christian B. Anfinsen Award

Past recipients of the Christian B. Anfinsen Award include: Tom Alber (2013), Barry Honig (2012), D. Wayne Bolen (2011), Yoshinori Fujiyoshi (2010), Wayne Hubbell (2009), Carol Robinson(2008), Carl Frieden (2007), John R. Yates, III (2006), Matthias Mann (2005), Meir Wilchek (2004), Ada Yonath (2003), Roger Tsien (2002), Martin Karplus (2001), Stephen Benkovic (2000), Alan Fersht (1999), James Wells (1998), Wayne Hendrickson (1997), and Donald Hunt (1996).

grey filler square


2015 nominations will be accepted starting in May, 2014.

The 2014 awards will be presented at the 28th Annual Symposium of The Protein Society in San Diego, California (July 27-30, 2014).

Nominating candidates for Protein Society Awards is a benefit available only to current Society members.  Renew or join today.