The Emil Thomas Kaiser Award

Emil Thomas Kaiser

In 1995, The Protein Society established The Emil Thomas Kaiser Award. Dr. Kaiser’s highly original research, including the profoundly significant discovery of the necessity amphiphilic helices to biological life, can be said to have introduced a new field of chemistry. In this tradition, The Emil Thomas Kaiser Award recognizes a recent, highly significant contribution in applying chemistry to the study of proteins. 

To make a donation in support of the Kaiser Award Endowment, please visit this webpage.

grey filler square

2016 Emil Thomas Kaiser Award winner Charles Craik, UCSF


The 2016 The Emil Thomas Kaiser Award recipient is Dr. Charles S. Craik (University of California, San Francisco). Dr. Craik the founder and director of the Chemistry and Chemical Biology Graduate Program. He received his education and training at Allegheny College (BS), Columbia University (Ph.D.) and UCSF (Postdoctoral). He joined the UCSF faculty in 1985 where his research interests focus on defining the roles and the mechanisms of enzymes in complex biological processes and on developing technologies to facilitate these studies. He is also founder of Catalyst Biosciences, a biotechnology company focused on therapeutic proteases. Craik is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). The current research in the Craik lab focuses on the chemical biology of proteolytic enzymes, their receptors and their natural inhibitors. A particular emphasis of his work is on identifying the roles and regulating the activity of proteases and degradative enzyme complexes associated with infectious diseases and cancer. These studies coupled with his global substrate profiling and noninvasive imaging efforts are providing a better understanding of both the chemical make-up and the biological importance of these critical proteins to aid in the rapid detection, monitoring and control of infectious disease and cancer.

grey filler square

History of The Emil Thomas Kaiser Award

Recipients of the Emil Thomas Kaiser Award include: Anna Mapp (2015), Carol Fierke (2014), Wilfred Van Der Donk (2013), Jeffery Kelly (2011), Suzanne Walker (2010), Donald Hilvert (2009), JoAnne Stubbe (2008), Michael Marletta (2007), Barbara Imperiali (2006).  Previous recipients, sponsored by SynPep Corporation, include: Ronald Raines (2005), Homme Hellinga (2004), Michael Hecht (2003), and Steve Kent (2002).  The award was previously named the Amgen Lectureship, under which recipients included Robert Sauer (2001), David Eisenberg (2000), Randy Schekman (1999), M. Yoshida (1998), Stan Prusiner (1997), T. Tsukihara and S. Yoshikawa  (1996), and, Jane and David Richardson (1995).

grey filler square


2016 nominations will be accepted starting in May, 2015.

The 2015 awards will be presented at the 29th Annual Symposium of The Protein Society in Barcelona, Spain (July 22-25, 2015).