The Hans Neurath Award

Hans Neurath
1909 – 2002

Hans Neurath played an integral role in the early life of the Society, as a founding member and later -at age 81- as founding editor of Protein Science. His contributions to the early success of the Society were surpassed only by his larger contributions to the field of biochemistry and our early understanding of proteins.

Reflective of his prolific contributions to the understanding of the physical chemistry of proteins, The Hans Neurath Award, sponsored by the Hans Neurath Foundation, seeks to honor individuals who have made a recent contribution of exceptional merit to basic protein research.

grey filler square

2016 Hans Neurath Award winner H. Eric Xu, Van Andel Research Institute

The 2016 The Hans Neurath Award recipient is Dr. H. Eric Xu (Van Andel Research Institute). Dr. Xu established and served as the distinguished Director of the VARI-SIMM Center for Drug Discovery at Shanghai Institute of Materia (SIMM) of Chinese Academy of Sciences. Research in his group has previously been supported by four NIH R01 grants, one Senior Investigator Award from American Asthma Foundation, and one past DOD prostate cancer idea development award, which cover structures and drug discovery of nuclear hormone receptors, hepatocyte growth factor and its receptor Met tyrosine kinase, G-protein coupled receptors, and plant hormones. Two of his research papers on plant hormones were selected as top 10 breakthroughs by Science in 2009 and by Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2014, and his recent X-ray laser structure of the first GPCR-arrestin complex was also selected as a top 10 breakthrough by Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2016.

grey filler square

History of The Hans Neurath Award

Past recipients of the The Hans Neurath Award include: Marina Rodnina (2015), James Hurley (2014), Jennifer Doudna (2013), Chuck Sanders (2013), Charles L. Brooks, III (2012), Johannes Buchner (2011), Wendell Lim (2010), William Eaton (2009), Robert Stroud (2008), Robert Sauer (2007), Christopher Dobson (2006), Roderick MacKinnon (2005), Carlos Bustamante (2004), James Wells (2003), Ad Bax (2002), Arthur Horwich (2001), Janet Thornton (2000), Peter Kim (1999), and Ken Dill (1998).

grey filler square


2016 nominations will be accepted starting in May, 2015.

The 2015 awards will be presented at the 29th Annual Symposium of The Protein Society in Barcelona, Spain (July 22-25, 2015).

Nominating a colleague for a Society award is a benefit of membership. Renew or join today.