The Protein Science Young Investigator Award

The Protein Science Young Investigator Award recognizes a scientist in the first 8 years of an independent career who has made an important contribution to the study of proteins.*

2016 Young Investigator winner Benjamin Garcia, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine

The 2016 Protein Science Young Investigator Award recipient is Dr. Benjamin Garcia (University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine). Dr. Garcia has been developing analytical and computational tools to understand the combinatorial complexity of simultaneously occurring histone modifications, identifying thousands of uniquely modified histone H3 forms, the significance of which is the focus of current research interest (e.g. combinatorial Histone Code). He also been involved in development of advanced mass spectrometry instrumental approaches using electron transfer dissociation and data-independent acquisition to increase the accuracy and precision for protein and proteome characterization. The Garcia lab has been developing and applying novel mass spectrometry based proteomic approaches for interrogating protein post-translational modifications (PTMs), especially those involved in epigenetic mechanisms such as histones, publishing over 170 publications.

grey filler square

Award History (formerly known as The Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award)

Past recipients of the award include: Nieng Yan (2015), M. Madan Babu (2014),Feng Shao (2013), Mei Hong & Tarun M. Kapoor (2012), Shu-ou Shan (2011), Charalampos Kalodimos (2010), Virginia Cornish (2009), Jamie Doudna Cate (2008), Benjamin Cravatt (2007), Vijay Pande (2006), Thomas Muir (2005), Erin O’Shea and Jonathan Weissman (2004), Yigong Shi (2003), Carolyn Bertozzi (2002), Kevan Shokat (2001), David Baker (2000), Jeffery Kelly (1999), Nikola Pavletich (1998), John Kuriyan (1997), Michael Summers (1996), Stuart Schreiber (1995), Peter Kim (1994), Ad Bax and Marius Clore (1993), Peter Schultz (1992), Carl Pabo (1991), Rachel Klevit (1990), and William DeGrado (1989).

grey filler square


2016 nominations will be accepted starting in May, 2015.

The 2015 awards will be presented at the 29th Annual Symposium of The Protein Society in Barcelona, Spain (July 22-25, 2015).

Nominating a colleague for a Society award is a benefit of membership. Renew or join today.

*With allowances for familial leave or other exigent circumstance.