Meetings - Prog and Speakers CROP.png


2021 PPC 950x380 CROP.jpg

We are excited to bring you this year’s anniversary symposium, comprising 11 exceptional scientific sessions and 10+ award talks that cover a wide range of scientific achievements in the field of protein science. Our program committee, chaired by Jeanne Hardy, Ph.D, has convened a host of stimulating speakers and topical areas of current research. This year’s symposium continues our commitment to open participation, with a number of symposium talks coming from contributed sessions and speakers across a broad range of topics. 

Plenary Speakers

CROP C Drennan.jpg

CROP K Fleming.jpg

CROP M Gruebele.jpg

Catherine Drennan, Ph.D.
2020 Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin Award 

Capturing Snapshots of Ribonucleotide Reductase in Action

Karen Fleming, Ph.D.
2020 Carl Branden Award 

Martin Gruebele, Ph.D.
2020 Hans Neurath Award 

Protein Folding & Interactions:
From the Computer Into the Test Tube & on to the Cell

CROP Mohammad Seyedsayamdost-2.jpg CROP S Sligar.jpg CROP S Zhang.jpg

Mohammad Seyedsayamdost, Ph.D.
2020 Protein Science Young Investigator Award  

New Reactions Catalyzed by Metalloenzymes in Natural Product Biosynthetic Pathways

Stephen Sligar, Ph.D.
2020 Christian B. Anfinsen Award

Revealing the Structure & Function of Membrane Proteins

Shuguang Zhang, Ph.D.
2020 Emil Thomas Kaiser Award

Self-Assembling Peptides: 
From a Discovery in a Yeast Protein to Diverse Uses & Beyond

Preliminary Program and Speakers

Session Topic 1: Cryo-EM: Beyond Single Particle Reconstruction

M Ho.jpg

Amedee des Georges.jpg

R Danev.jpg
Mimi Ho, Ph.D.
Columbia University
Amédée des Georges, Ph.D.
City University of New York
Radostin Danev, Ph.D.
University of Tokyo
Pushing the Limits of Cryo-EM for G Protein-coupled Receptors

Session Topic 2: New Protein Post-Translational Modifications

E Weerapana.jpg I Maze.jpg H Lin.jpg
Eranthie Weerapana, Ph.D.
Boston College

Ian Maze, Ph.D.
Icahn School of Medicine

Hening Lin, Ph.D.
Cornell University

Protein Monoaminylation in Brain: Novel Mechanisms of Neural Development, Plasticity & Disease

Session Topic 3: Targeted Protein Degradation

M Schaffer 2.jpg A Cacase.jpg N Thoma.jpg
Angela Cacace, Ph.D.
Nicolas Thomä, Ph.D.
Friedrich Miescher Institute

Session Topic 4: Protein Structures Through the Lens of Machine Learning

J Jumper.jpg D Koes.jpg Heather Kulick.jpg
John Jumper, Ph.D.

David Koes, Ph.D.
University of Pittsburgh

Heather Kulik, Ph.D.

Session Topic 5: Protein Evolution, Design and Selection

Hilvert.jpg J Thornton.jpg L Contreras.jpg
Donald Hilvert, Ph.D.
ETH Zurich
Janet Thornton, Ph.D.
Lydia Contreras, Ph.D.
University of Texas at Austin

Session Topic 6: Novel Approaches to Observe Proteins in Their Natural Environment

M Schaffer 2.jpg M Schaffer 2.jpg L Jones.jpg
Miroslava Schaffer, Ph.D.
Max Planck Institute
Lisa Jones, Ph.D.
University of Maryland

Session Topic 7: Allostery & Dynamics in Protein Function

C Wilson.jpg R Gaudet.jpg Andrew Woolley.jpg
Corey Wilson, Ph.D.
Georgia Institute of Technology
Rachelle Gaudet, Ph.D.
Harvard University
Andrew Woolley, Ph.D.
University of Toronto

Session Topic 8: Diffraction Methods are Alive and Well

J Rodriguez.jpg C Larabell.jpg E Nango.jpg
Jose Rodriguez, Ph.D.
University of California Los Angeles

Carolyn Larabell, Ph.D.
University of California San Francisco

Eriko Nango, Ph.D.
Tohuku University

Session Topic 9: Measuring Forces of Biological Systems

M Wang.jpg Andrea Candelli-2.jpg K Salaita.jpg
Michelle Wang, Ph.D.
Cornell University

Andrea Candelli, Ph.D.

Khalid Salaita, Ph.D.
Emory University

Session Topic 10: Designer Proteins Through Genetic Code Expansion

K Lang.jpg Abhishek Chatterjee, Ph.D..jpg Nediljko Budiso, Ph.D..jpg
Kathrin Lang, Ph.D.
Technical University of Munich

Abishek Chatterjee, Ph.D.
Boston College

Nediljko Budisa, Ph.D.
University of Manitoba

Session Topic 11: Quaternary Structure: Shape Shifting in the Control of Protein Function

E Jaffe.jpg C Jeffery.jpg Y Aye.jpg
Eileen Jaffe, Ph.D.
Fox Chase Cancer Center
Constance Jeffery, Ph.D.
University of Illinois Chicago
Yimon Aye, Ph.D.